Tuesday, January 19, 2016

{Blog Tour} SHALLOW GRAVES by Kali Wallace—Author Interview + Giveaway

PRESENTED BY FFBC TOURS / CLICK HERE TO VIEW THE TOUR SCHEDULE
..........................................................................................................................................................


Shallow Graves
by Kali Wallace

For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.

When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.

Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.

* * *
Age Group/Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal
 Publication: January 26, 2016
 Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins
Purchase: Amazon • B&N • KoboiBooks • IndieBound

..........................................................................................................................................................

with Kali Wallace


LM: What was your inspiration for writing Shallow Graves?

Kali: I have always loved stories about magical, monstrous corners of the world existing alongside the mundane world we know, but most of those stories are usually about the people who hunt monsters. Slayers, hunters, detectives detecting fantastical crime, etc.

Read enough books and watch enough stories like that, and you start to feel a little sorry for the monsters. It's not their fault they're monsters! Maybe they have monster friends and monster families waiting back in their monsters homes, worrying about what's happening to them while they're out getting chased around by angry humans. The more I thought about it, the more I became enamored of the idea of monsters who are just trying to go about their lives, not necessarily evil in any way, just different, and hiding, and wanting to be left alone.

LM: Can you give us a little behind-the-scenes story about Shallow Graves?

Kali: Ah, let me share with you the behind-the-scenes tale of the 49684965 times I tried to start writing this book, and failed. It is an object lesson in "If at first you don't succeed, try, try again, and again, and try again, and try some more, and again, and keep trying!" You see, Shallow Graves was initially conceived as a sequel to another book, so the first several times I tried to write it, I was doing so in that framework.

And I didn't know how to get it right. I tried so many ridiculous beginnings. There are versions of this book that begin a farmers' market, version that begin in math class, problems that begin in a school lunchroom. The farmers' market again. I tried everything. None of it felt right, so I just kept trying. Sometimes when you know you've got a story to tell but you don't know how to tell it, nothing will work for digging in except brute forth trial and error.

LM: What did you consider the most challenging part of writing this book?

Kali: Aside from all the aforementioned trouble I had with the beginning, and a similar trouble with getting the end right, the most challenging writing for me were the action and fight scenes. Look, my preferred way of fighting is writing snarky comments on the internet. Everything I know about physical fighting comes from watching Captain America punch bad guys in the movies. It takes me a long, long time to figure out who is moving where and who is punching whom, and it doesn't help that all of my characters are just as bad at physical fighting as I am, so they have no idea what they're doing either.

LM: Tell us a little bit about your main character, Breezy—who is she?

Kali: Breezy is in many ways a very ordinary teenage girl. She has a family, she has friends, she has school and plans for the future and big dreams. She's seventeen and ambitious and ready for the rest of her life--until that's all interrupted by the inconvenient matter of her own murder.

When she comes back from the dead--unexpected, to say the least--she's still more or less the same person, only now she has these magical abilities she never had before, and they give her a kind of power she has never had before. She decides, of course, that she wants to know more, so she travels around, trying to find people and answers that will help her understand this new world she is now part of.

LM: Can you share with us one of your favorite quotes/scenes from Shallow Graves?

Kali: I am going to quote a few lines completely out of context and without explanation:

Mr. Willow looked at me, and at once I saw what I hadn't seen before, the subtle shift in expression that before had made me think he knew more than he was saying.

He was afraid of me.

Nobody had ever been afraid of me before.

LM: Tell us what you enjoy doing when you aren't writing!

Kali: What is this "not writing" thing about which you inquire? I have vague remembrances of a time in distant ages past, when I did not have a deadline looming and therefore was able to do things besides write, but those memories are hazy and distant…

But in those halcyon days of yore, I've always loved walking and exercising and hiking, cooking and baking, traveling to beautiful places, looking at mountains and thinking about how pretty they are, and watching TV. I watch a lot of TV. If there is a club somewhere for Writers Who Are Too Cool For Watching Television, I am definitely not in it.

..........................................................................................................................................................





Kali Wallace studied geology and geophysics before she decided she enjoyed inventing imaginary worlds as much as she liked researching the real one. Her short fiction has appeared in Clarkesworld, F&SF, Asimov's, Lightspeed Magazine, and Tor.com. Her first novel will be published by Katherine Tegen Books in 2016. She lives in southern California.

WEBSITE • GOODREADS • FACEBOOK • TWITTER

..........................................................................................................................................................


Giant thanks to Kali Wallace for answering my questions today! ^-^

Readers, please continue on for giveaway details! ~


a Rafflecopter giveaway
Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy Reading!

..........................................................................................................................................................